

Important Dates

Paper Submission Starts: October 15, 2022

Submission Deadline: January 22, 2023

Paper Status Notification: March 1, 2023

Submission: https://app.oxfordabstracts.com/stages/4864/submitter

Website: https://aercafrica.org/

Alternative Website: https://www.africaeconometricsociety.com/conferences



The 2023 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (AFES 2023) will be hosted by The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC), https://aercafrica.org/ from June 1 to 3, 2023.

Confirmed keynote speakers

- · Daron Acemoglu (MIT), Professor
- Ernest Aryeetey (The African Research Universities Alliance, Univ. of Ghana), Professor
- Esther Duflo (MIT), Professor, Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, 2019.
- Rosa Matzkin (University of California), Professor, President of The Econometrics Society
- Nathan Nunn (University of British Colombia), Professor
- James Robinson (University of Chicago), Professor
- Kevin Chuka Urama (African Development Bank), Professor, Vice President/Chief Economist
- Léonard Wantchekon (Princeton University), Professor

Registration and conference Fees

https://app.oxfordabstracts.com/events/3729/registrations/new

Registration opens: March 1, 2023

Registration deadline for presenters only: March 24, 2023

Early registration - before April 23, 2023:

Onsite: Regular fees: US\$250 Students' fees: US\$150

Online: Presenters: Regular fees: US\$150

Students' fees: US\$100 Non-presenter fees: US\$50

Late registration - after April 23, 2023:

Onsite: Regular fees: US\$300 Students' fees: US\$200

Online: Presenters: Regular fees: US\$200

Students' fees: US\$150 Non-presenter fees: US\$50

Conference Format: Hybrid – Both onsite and online participation/presentation will be allowed. All the presentations will be available on a virtual platform

Paper Submissions

The deadline for submissions is January 22, 2023. Papers can only be submitted **(only full papers count)** electronically in pdf format through Oxford Abstracts website on https://app.oxfordabstracts.com/stages/4864/submitter. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Econometric Society, and all participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at https://www.econometricsociety.org/membership

When submitting your paper through Oxford Abstracts, please use the same email address as your Econometric Society account and choose from the drop-down menu the appropriate field and program committee member associated with your paper topic. Note that your submission details can be edited throughout the submission process up until the submission deadline of January 22, 2023. Please direct questions to AFES2023@aercafrica.org for more information or visit the conference website https://aercafrica.org/

Programme Chair: Théophile Azomahou (AERC)

Organizing Committee: Théophile Azomahou (AERC), Senvy Maistry (AERC), Dianah Muchai (AERC), Lucy Odhiambo (AERC), Daniel Njiru (AERC), Eleni Yitbarek (University of Pretoria), Anthony Simpasa (AfDB), Hammed Amusa (AfDB).

Programme Committee: Théophile Azomahou (AERC), Yaw Nyarko (New York University), Prosper Dovonon (Concordia University), Eleni Yitbarek (University of Pretoria), Dianah Muchai (AERC), Scholastica Odhiambo (AERC), Mark Korir (AERC), Victor Murinde (SOAS University of London), Andy Mckay (University of Sussex), Bernadette Dia Kamgnia, (CAPEC), Finn Tarp (University of Copenhagen), Leonce Ndikumana (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Hammed Amusa (AfDB), Francis Leni Anguyo (AfDB), Alexandre Kopoin (AfDB), Lacina Balma (AfDB), Dawit Tessema (AfDB), Adamon Mukasa (AfDB), Andinet Woldemichael (AfDB), Anthony Simpasa (AfDB), Abdoulaye Seck (University Cheikh Anta Diop), Wisdom Akpalu (Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration), Abbi M. Kedir (University of Sheffield), Victor Okoruwa (University of Ibadan), Issouf Soumaré (Université Laval), Rodney Smith (University of Maryland), Olawale Ogunkola (University of Ibadan), Romain Houssa (University of Namur), Alastaire Alinsato (University of Abomey-Calavi), Pierre Mohnen (UNU-MERIT), James Robinson (University of Chicago), Beatrice Kalinda Mkenda (University of Dar es Salaam School of Economics), Justice Nonvignon (Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, AU), Steve Koch (University of Pretoria), Mesay Gebresilasse (Amherst College), Constantine Manda (Eco. Social Research Foundation), John Ele-Ojo Ataguba (University of Cape Town), Roland Pongou (University of Ottawa), Jean-Baptiste Tondji (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley), J. Atsu Amegashie (University of Guelph), Ian Heffernan (African School of Economics), Marlene Koffi (University of Toronto), Maryse Kathleen Ngangoue (UCLA Anderson School of Management), Sophie Osotimehin (Universite du Quebec à Montreal), Kenza Benhima (University of Lausanne DEEP-HEC), Abderrahim Taamouti (University of Liverpool), Sessi Tokpavi (University of Orléans), Firmin Doko (University of Adelaide), Antoine Diogbenou (York University), Ismael Mourifie (University of Toronto), Dalia Ghanem (UC Davis), Pierre Nguimkeu (Georgia State University), Desire Kedagni (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill), Harounan Kazianga (Oklahoma State University), Lemma W. Senbet (University at Buffalo, SUNY), Ameet Morjaria (Northwestern University).

Financial Support will be available to young researchers from Africa who wish to present papers during the conference. The allocation of the grants will be on a competitive basis. The grants will partially cover travel and accommodation expenses for onsite participants. Applications should be done at the time of paper submission. Application dossier shall contain: i) a cover letter with a detailed mention of affiliation, role and 2 references that may be contacted in the selection process, ii) a CV. The application shall be submitted via the Oxford Abstracts website during the paper submission process – option: "Application for financial support". Submission deadline: January 22, 2023. Selected applicants will be informed at the time of Paper Status Notification by March 1, 2023.

Econometric Society Africa Region's Young Economist Best Paper Award. A competition for the best paper from young economists is open for papers presented in the contributed sessions at the conference by young scholars. The main target of the award is young scholars from underfunded institutions especially, Africa based young scholars. For co-authored papers, the program committee will ensure that the candidate is the major contributor to the paper. The price will consist of 500 USD minimum, and the recipient's enrollment in the AERC attachment programme (https://aercafrica.org/attachment-programmes/). Submission should be done via the Oxford Abstracts website during the paper submission process – option: "Application to the Econometric Society Africa Region's Young Economist Best Paper Award". The winner will be announced during the general assembly at the conference.

Contact: For further information, please contact the conference coordinator at AFES2023@aercafrica.org



